Author Topic: Advice please sharpening  (Read 2908 times)

Offline Vestas

• copper
Advice please sharpening
« on: March 30, 2019, 07:56:33 AM »
Hi

After joining this forum last week and receiving great help so far - Yesterday I purchased my lathe (Axminster craft) a set of tools etc
I’m now skint and wondering what my options are for tool sharpening . The sharpening system in the shop was £££££££££ so I’ve looked at the following alternatives-
Oil stone
Diamond card
Buy a cheap bench grinder and fit a white sharpening wheel ?
Anyone help me please

Offline bodrighywood

• platinum
    • Bodrighy Wood
Re: Advice please sharpening
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2019, 08:07:34 AM »
I have been using a cheap grinder with a white wheel for many years with no problem as long as you are gentle with it. I use a little jig for angles, easily made yourself. I have also migrated to using a trend card instead of returning to the wheel all the time during jobs, saves time and also steel LOL.

pete
Turners don't make mistakes, they have design opportunities

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2019, 09:00:31 AM »
My whole sharpening system is made from cheap B&Q grinders, no need to spend lots of money on expensive grinders that promise you the earth, just learn how to use them correctly and you will never have a problem.
2 things you need to be a good turner,sharp tools and time at the lathe.

Offline Derwent Woodturning club

• bronze
    • Derwent Woodturning Club
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2019, 09:56:15 AM »
I totally agree with the previous posts; don't get sucked into buying ridiculously expensive 'sharpening systems', but one extra tip - buy a wide stone, white or pink as it's very easy to slip off the edge of the standard 3/4" wheels. A 1" wide wheel may not sound much bigger but it makes life a lot easier.
Regards,
Derwent Woodturning Club

Offline Vestas

• copper
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2019, 11:23:22 AM »
Thanks very much