Author Topic: First attempt at a plate  (Read 4400 times)

Offline Mike313

• gold
  • Ancora Imparo
First attempt at a plate
« on: January 18, 2018, 03:06:28 PM »
Hi all,
As I mentioned in a previous post, I am a complete beginner and I thought I'd share a couple of photos of my very first attempt at turning a plate or very shallow dish. Prior to this piece, I have done three small practice pieces, two of which ended up as knobs on the lids of some pans :)
Critical comments welcomed. I'll start it off by saying it's far from perfect and there are still tool marks which became obvious when I put some furniture beeswax polish on it. I will probably put it back on the lathe to see if I can improve the finish .... that said it was very pleasurable to see this plate emerge from what had previously been the seat of a broken chair  :). I think it is oak.
Mike.

Offline crazylegs

• bronze
Re: First attempt at a plate
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2018, 03:22:39 PM »
I like the overall look, wood and shape. There will be loads more people better qualified to advise on the finish.
never try to be better than others just better than you were yesterday.

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2018, 03:23:33 PM »
For a complete beginner that's not bad at all. Yes, there are tool marks, and there are also some bumps and ridges, but the overall shape is not bad.
Unless you have done that already, join your local club, there's plenty of good advice to be had there in terms of improving your skills.

Offline farmerphil

• bronze
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2018, 03:40:57 PM »
Hi Mike,

Congratulations on reclaiming a fine piece of timber and the makings of a good plate.