Author Topic: Help Needed - how to make end flat/square  (Read 711 times)

Offline stevebett74

• iron
Help Needed - how to make end flat/square
« on: November 17, 2023, 09:10:27 PM »
Hi all - new member here . I don’t have a band saw or mitre saw - so I cut logs by reciprocating saw . Basically I start with logs that are not truly square / flat at either end . I see all these videos with people using a band saw to create one flat end - then they put it on a faceplate or jaw chuck . My question is - if I mount the wood on the pointy centre bit at each end - how do I then make firstly one end square /flat so I can put it on a faceplate . Then when I turn it round attached to a faceplate on the headstock - how do I then make the other end flat / square please ??
Simple question - I guess I could use a parting gouge first of all to make one end square / flat - but any tips / ideas / videos welcome please as I’m new to woodturning . Thanks

Offline Twisted Trees

• platinum
  • Bristol, UK
    • Twisted Trees
Re: Help Needed - how to make end flat/square
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2023, 09:33:20 PM »
Parting tool, skew, spindle gouge many ways of achieving it, I am more concerned that you appear to be intending to put the end grain on a faceplate. Bad plan especially if new to turning.

What are you attempting to turn?
TT, AKA Pete, but that name is taken :-)

Offline stevebett74

• iron
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2023, 09:47:19 PM »
Thanks for the reply - I'm just finding my way and maybe will make a bowl to start with - or something like a long candle stick.

""Parting tool, skew, spindle gouge many ways of achieving it""

This is what i would like to know - i don't have a bandsaw etc - so i make the wood roughly flat at each end - but want to know exactly how do i make the end flat/square please

I keep looking on youtube but everyone seems to have a band saw or they start with a square blank - i need to use my lathe to make the end square.