Author Topic: Sal's lamp and a new box!  (Read 3265 times)

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
Sal's lamp and a new box!
« on: April 25, 2013, 09:02:47 PM »
Not much going on in the workshop this week as it's a bit busy in work and I'm generally happy to collapse in the evening, but SWMBO - AAC (Sal) decided that it would be nice to turn that big, knotty, gnarled and wormy lump of yew into a table lamp.

The base stands 130mm high and is 130mm diameter, so I was a bit concerned that it might look a bit boxy, but the shade draws the eye upwards and makes the proportions look much better.

Meanwhile, I' ve just bought a copy of Chris Stott's 50 turned boxes, and this is my first attempt to turn a box inspired by his designs.

The main body and the button are padauk, whilst the lid is from an offcut of maple. It's 130mm overall height and 70mm diameter at the widest point.

I scaled the box up from the one shown in the book, but I think that perhaps the lid could have been a little flatter and the button quite a bit smaller....it tends to overpower the lid.

That's what I think, but I'm happy to take comments and criticisms.
Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline Roderick Evans

• bronze
  • roderickevanswoodturning.blogspot.com
    • Roderick Evans Woodturning
Re: Sal's lamp and a new box!
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2013, 09:33:22 PM »
Noswaith dda Les!

I think you've done a cracking job on the box.
The contrasting timbers work really well together.A nicely turned lip for the lid to sit on and  a nicely turned underside to the lid. It  sits nicely in the recess just below the shoulder of the box. I agree, the button could have been a bit smaller but overall a very nice piece and a job well done.
Have you been "tango'd" by the padauk?????

Da iawn
Rod
To be born Welsh is to be born privileged. Not with a silver spoon in your mouth, but music in your blood and poetry in your soul.

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren