Author Topic: spindle adapter M33 x 3.5mm to 1" 10tpi  (Read 2674 times)

Offline Badgerboy

• iron
spindle adapter M33 x 3.5mm to 1" 10tpi
« on: November 14, 2021, 10:54:05 AM »
Hi all. I'm new to turning and just setting up a small workshop. I just bought a SC3 chuck that I cant fine an adapter for (spindle adapter M33 x 3.5mm to 1" 10tpi). Has anyone got any ideas as to where I can find one. I rang Record and they say they have never mad on with a 1" 10tpi but if it's a ripoff it's a good one.

Offline Bill21

• platinum
Re: spindle adapter M33 x 3.5mm to 1" 10tpi
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2021, 11:21:54 AM »
I’m not sure how long the SC3 has been around but all the later ones are clearly marked Record Power. There are however lots of  very similar looking chucks around at the moment. 1” x 10 tpi is not a thread I’ve seen mentioned on a lathe very much. I think a couple of the old British lathes had this thread? If so there won’t be much call for it.

Good luck with your quest and do let us know how you get on, it may help others.

Offline Tim Pettigrew

• bronze
    • Converting a garage to a woodturning workshop
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2021, 11:50:15 AM »
Does this fit the bill? https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01N6F1LNA?ie=UTF8&*entries*=0&viewID=&*Version*=1
"Headstock thread adaptor.
To fit onto a lathe with 1" x 10tpi headstock thread.
To mount a scroll chuck (or face plate) with M33 x 3.5mm thread."
???
« Last Edit: November 14, 2021, 11:58:03 AM by Tim Pettigrew »

Offline Badgerboy

• iron
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2021, 12:52:03 PM »
Thanks for the replies
The chuck dose have the Markings on it but Record says it's not theirs and although it was new in the right case I don't know how old it is. The trouble is i bought it on eBay in July and then went in for a hip replacement and only just got back to it.   
The link to Amazon is the opposite to what I need. The headstock is m33 the chuck is 1"

Offline Bill21

• platinum