Author Topic: Turning Old Checked Log - Dangerous?  (Read 2018 times)

Offline howlingbaboon

• bronze
Turning Old Checked Log - Dangerous?
« on: January 31, 2017, 11:08:14 AM »
Hi All,

I'm new to woodturning. I spent the last few days learning about spindle turning on my dad's ancient lathe (passed down to him and he's 76!). I've enjoyed some success on some pine timber so far. I've got a few old laburnam logs which have only been kept for firewood up to now. They are quite cracked (checked....?) on the ends. Unless it's a safety issue, I'd be interested to see what happens if I turn it (in the knowledge that if won't make a nice smooth and perfect product).

Are there any problems turning old checked logs? Primarily safety?

Many thanks for any advice

Offline bodrighywood

• platinum
    • Bodrighy Wood
Re: Turning Old Checked Log - Dangerous?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2017, 11:37:39 AM »
Laburnum logs can often be split at the ends but sound futher down the log but when you turn wood that is split or has damaged sections there is always the danger of pieces flying off. It can also be rotten inside if it is older wood (see the Laburnum: WIP thread) Keep the speed low (sub 500rpm) and your tools very sharp at all times and stop frequently to check. Also wear at least a full face mask, not just goggles as bits can come off and even at low speeds could inflict damage. My advice if you are a novice would be to leave it until you are experienced enough to be able to tell by the feel and sound of the wood as you turn it as they can indicate weaknesses and possible dangers.

Pete
Turners don't make mistakes, they have design opportunities

Offline howlingbaboon

• bronze
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2017, 03:33:43 PM »
Hi Pete,