Author Topic: Beginner: Spindle and bowl gouge grinding angles question.  (Read 10661 times)

Stevekir

Beginner: Spindle and bowl gouge grinding angles question.
« on: October 19, 2016, 08:50:15 PM »
Returning beginner here. I have set myself up with a lathe (Axminster AH-1218VS) and some bits including their £93 set of tools in a wood case. After practicing beads and coves on softwood, the spindle gouge seems blunt and I need to sharpen it. I have a Creusen 6" electric  grinder with two wheels: grey, rough; and white, smoother. I will of course be using the white one. I had read that these two gouges are normally ground with a different curve on the wings by using the Woodcut etc. jigs.

I have accurately measured the angle of the spindle which is 30 degrees, to my surprise both at the tip and at the wings (unlike the bowl gouge whch as different angles for the tip and the wings). (Please see attachment for my understanding of the definition of grinding angle.)

The spindle gouge seems to have been sharpened by simply rotating the tool about its axis, without any change in its 90 degree angle to the wheel from left to right, so producing a ground surface which is part of a cone (like on a roughing gouge). It was rotated (about its axis) sufficiently far clockwise and anti-clockwise to produce sharp wings (unlike a roughing gouge of course). It seemed to work alright.

The bowl gouge has a different angle at the wings, so must have been ground on a Woodcut etc. jig. However, as I will be sticking to spindle turning for some time, re-grinding the spindle gouge as it is would save me the cost of a Woodcut jig for some time.

Question 1: Why has the spindle gouge been ground with the same angle from wing to wing? All my reading indicates this is unusual.

Question 2: Would re-grinding it as it is be OK?

Grateful for any help.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2016, 08:52:13 PM by Stevekir »

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood