Author Topic: using linseed oil  (Read 4167 times)

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
using linseed oil
« on: December 20, 2014, 03:37:57 PM »
hi all, i'm a bit new to using linseed oil and just wondered if there are any particular ways it should be used?

i've turned a small walnut bowl to test it out and given it a good coat to soak in and i know it takes ages to dry so have left it in the corner of the room and will try a second in the new year.

are there any tips to building up layers and getting a good shine?

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
Re: using linseed oil
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2014, 10:10:28 PM »
Personally I wouldn't bother using it. Try Danish oil, IMHO a far superior finish and more controllable too. Somedays you can get 3 coats on in a day. (you've got to get up early mind).

woody

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2014, 10:34:58 PM »
I have to agree a good quality Danish or Teak oil like Rustins will give a far superior finish they are made as a finish and have driers in them I normally apply at least 6 coats depending on the type of wood it is going on

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2014, 11:16:02 PM »
Steve,

While I agree about using Danish Oil, I'll answer your question.

To start with there is Raw and Boiled Linseed Oil.

Raw Linseed oil is great for some things, anything you make for use in a garden or outside.

I don't actually think Boiled is boiled, it has added driers (as in paint driers) so that it 'sets' (polymerizes). I like to use it for any handles I make for tools and wipe my workbench down with it a couple of times a year. But as it sets it can be applied in layers a to build up a finish but it does take longer to go off than Danish, so a longer finish time.
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum