Author Topic: new to the list. hi all.  (Read 4712 times)

theblindwoodturner

new to the list. hi all.
« on: June 06, 2011, 09:49:15 PM »
Hi all.

I'm new to the list and thought I'd say hi. My name's Lew, I'm a blind professional woodturner from North Wales and thought I'd find a nice home to join, give some ideas, tuition and above all create plenty of gerbil friendly shavings etc.

have a great day / evening, etc.

lew

Offline Martin Lawrence

• Global Moderator
  • gold
  • Kidderminster Worcestershire
Re: new to the list. hi all.
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2011, 08:50:32 AM »
Hi Lew,

Welcome to the forum, look forward to your future postings.

Cheers Martin.
Martin Lawrence

Offline woodndesign

• platinum
  • Cannock Staffordshire
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2011, 01:26:34 PM »

Hi Lew, Welcome to the forum, woodturning and equally, well done in taking on a challenging hobby, which as sighted we can find difficult, if not hazardous with all our scences, a lot is always down to touch, sizing, how smooth a finish, but to think as to closing one eyes or not seeing..
 May I ask as to what degree are you blind, have you gone blind or have you never had a understanding as to shape or colour, it's a thing I could not contemplate even.
 Is there any kind of shaving a Gerbil/Hamster likes best or not at all, other than dry and dust free ????    DON'T mistake Hamsters or Shaving on Toast, don't like the sound of cheese on shaving..     :-[ .....

Take care and happy turning.

David
"It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,"  By Dickens ''''

theblindwoodturner

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2011, 05:10:02 PM »
Thanks david and martin.

david, you've just made my day lol I've never laughed my socks off so much lol.