Author Topic: Chip and PIN machines  (Read 6594 times)

Garfield942

Chip and PIN machines
« on: May 25, 2011, 04:08:54 PM »
Does any body use a chip and pin machine?  I sell items at craft fairs but not being a professional i am wondering if it is going to be viable to hire one of these machines, as cheques are being phased out.  If anybody uses one of these gizmos perhaps you could let me know details so that i can see if this is going to be cost effective.

Thanks
Garfield942

Offline Dave Atkinson

• Global Moderator
  • gold
  • Macclesfield
Re: Chip and PIN machines
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 04:45:59 PM »
Hi Garfield

The AWGB has a chip & Pin machine and they are not cheap.  Unless you are doing an excellent turnover I doubt it will be cost effective.

Back to the good old days of cash!!

I have read recently that the banks are going to stop guaranteeing cheques this year (July springs to mind).  I think it was on one of those letters from the bank that I don't tend to read properly.   I may of course be completely wrong about that though.

Cheers Dave

Offline Martin Lawrence

• Global Moderator
  • gold
  • Kidderminster Worcestershire
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 05:39:47 PM »
Hi Garfield,

Cheques are going to be around untill at least 2018, but as from next month there is no such thing as a cheque gaurantee card so I would suggest taking name and address with proof of ID incase a cheque bounces from now on.

Cheers Martin.
Martin Lawrence

Offline john taylor

• bronze
    • John Taylor Woodturner
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2011, 06:23:10 PM »
As mentioned from the 30th June the guarantee scheme will cease to be so if you take a cheque it will be at your own risk.