Author Topic: CBN wheels  (Read 9125 times)

Offline Haggy

• bronze
  • "You can keep your ashes in that " Wife
CBN wheels
« on: May 14, 2014, 06:28:28 PM »
My 8" bench grinder will soon need a new grinding wheel and I am debating asking my wife if she would allow me to part with £200.00 so I could buy a CBN wheel!
I am not a professional turner but love the thought of getting my tools as sharp as possible with no over heating problems or stone dust. 
Are all wheels of a similar quality and is it just a case of finding the cheapest price or are there things to be wary of?  Not sure if I can justify this one.
               Haggy

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
Re: CBN wheels
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2014, 08:56:32 PM »
Haggy you have now touched on a subject close to my heart. My personal opinion is do not spend lots of money on sharpening systems. 100 years ago all the turners had was a hand cranked whet stone and they made top quality work, why would we want to spend 200 quid or more on a sharpening system (that the manufacturers tell us we need !!) when a £25 grinder from B&Q used correctly will give the same result?
    I know there will be others commenting on this and possibly all the comments will be different but I would rather learn how to sharpen my tools on a cheap grinder and spend the money on something else (I was going to say spend it on something more valuable but sharpening is valuable) that I need/want even a nice piece of wood.

Nick Arnull

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2014, 09:17:58 PM »
Haggy,Sharpening is a can of worms,ask ten turners and there will be more than a dozen answers,the final choice can largely depends upon your work and available budget. The choice of wheel can also become personal to individuals requirements.