Author Topic: Some pictures of my work  (Read 3517 times)

PeterMarandola

Some pictures of my work
« on: December 17, 2013, 02:27:34 PM »
Hello everyone,

I just wanted to upload a few pictures of my work - hope this uploads as I am still getting used to the forum and how it works! Bare with me :)

As I said in my previous post I am relatively new at wood turning and have been doing this as a hobby. Your thoughts and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: Some pictures of my work
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2013, 07:21:28 PM »
Pete,

welcome to the AWGB Forum, I hope this is the first of many posts from you.

You say you are fairly new to woodturning, you seem to have some degree of skill as the turnings you've posted are shapely and have a good finish. Unfortunately the photos are a little poor so an exact comment on your finish is difficult.

Having said it's shapely, I'd add that you are where we all started, and are still allowing the tool to dictate some of the shape, don't worry, a little practice will soon sort that out. Confidence grows swiftly.

I would ask that you post a little about each piece, size, timber and finish, if you can remember at the time - don't worry if you don't, we often forget ourselves.
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

PeterMarandola

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2013, 07:45:44 PM »
Hi dr4g0nfly,
Thanks for your comments, very much appreciated. I am still experimenting with the finishes. At the moment just using a sealer and polishing with bees wax. Would be grateful for any tips. At the moment my grandson is helping me with this forum as at 79 years old I am getting a bit past taking in this new technology so please bear with me. Many thanks Pete.

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative