Author Topic: I hope I'm getting this right!  (Read 2614 times)

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
I hope I'm getting this right!
« on: April 29, 2013, 06:16:31 PM »
I've never done this before, so please, please shout at me if I'm getting it wrong.

here goes....I've cut up all the holly, ash and other bits that I got last week, into pieces big enough for 1 or 2 bowls each. I'm slowly taking individual pieces and coating the end grain in wax...lots of it! I'm also coating any serious knots on the surface and the last inch or so of each side.

There's also a load of logs of various age, which I'm happy to forget about for a couple of years, so they're getting the ends coated and will be put away in an open-sided shed.

Finally, there's the batch that I've yet to get around to. for now, they're sitting on a water feature being hosed down every day and covered with a tarp. I take a few pieces in-doors each evening and coat all the ends etc.

I do hope that this process will save much of the timber, but if anyone knows of anything I'm doing wrong, or anything extra that I can do....please say!

cheers, guys...Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: I hope I'm getting this right!
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 07:39:47 PM »
Les,

your main problem is too much good timber.

I suggest you share it around a little, we don't mind helping you out with it - honest!
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2013, 08:51:08 PM »