Author Topic: Bubinga Lidded Hollow Form & Chinese Lidded Box  (Read 3090 times)

Offline Roderick Evans

• bronze
  • roderickevanswoodturning.blogspot.com
    • Roderick Evans Woodturning
Bubinga Lidded Hollow Form & Chinese Lidded Box
« on: March 27, 2013, 09:57:32 PM »
I found a piece of 8" x 3" Bubinga today witha little sapwood on one side and wondered what I could do with it. The first piece is a small "chinese" lidded box 2 1/2" dia x 2" high including the lid. The second piece is a lidded hollow form 2 3/4" x 2 3/4" with an African Blackwood finial 2 1/4" in length and the thinnest diameter is 1/16th". C & C welcome,please.
To be born Welsh is to be born privileged. Not with a silver spoon in your mouth, but music in your blood and poetry in your soul.

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
Re: Bubinga Lidded Hollow Form & Chinese Lidded Box
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2013, 10:09:50 PM »
Hi Roderick....I'm speaking as something of a novice here, so take what I say with a pinch of salt! The 'Chinese' box looks a fun little thing to make, but I have a slight problem with the lidded box, in that the box itself has a very pleasing gentle, flowing curve to its form, whereas the lid and finial seem over complicated and somewhat at odds with the bowl's simplicity. Both pieces look technically great to me and I can surely appreciate the level of skill involved in making them.
One question, though.....how do you clean up and finish the inside of the box?   I've just started making undercut rims on bowls and boxes and can foresee the time when I'll be able to cut a shape, but not get sufficient access to finish it well.
Les (gwyntog)
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline Roderick Evans

• bronze
  • roderickevanswoodturning.blogspot.com
    • Roderick Evans Woodturning
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2013, 10:26:59 PM »