Author Topic: returning to turning  (Read 5595 times)

thescoot

returning to turning
« on: February 17, 2013, 09:52:31 AM »
Hi guys. just thought i would introduce myself. I have been a mechanical engineer for almost 4 decades and a cabinet maker for the last 10 years working primeraly in oak,ash and mahogany. i have been turning metal all my life and several years ago dabbled in wood turning when my father gave me an old clarks hobby lathe, the head of which i still have. i was also given a small tyme lathe that i loved working on and i feel turned out some reasonable projects on it. mostly small stuff and some bits for my furniture,little finials,handles etc. Then just before christmas i got a fancy to do a bit more turning and fell in love again!!!!
So i started trawling the net to find a decent size of lathe only to find the prices of all i thought suitable way too much for my budget.I was gutted. It was then i spotted a very old A J Cooksley and Son on e bay and placed a bid. winning bid £51.I could hardley believe my luck although it cost a bit for the transport it would be well worth it. It arrived about a month ago and thats when the problems started. It was three phaze 400v and my workshop isnt.Looking at all the options i felt an invertor was the best way to go so i purchased one of these MAGIC boxes and contacted an old mate of mine to help with the electrics. Hey presto. he converted the motor to 240 3 phaze(dont ask as iv not got a clue how that works) and added a potentiometer to control the hertz frequency.Wow 4 speed belt and pully lathe with 0 to 50 hertz speed control which gives 0 to 4500 speed fully variable.