Author Topic: Oak, Vinegar and Wire Wool....  (Read 8897 times)

arcos

Oak, Vinegar and Wire Wool....
« on: February 13, 2013, 02:49:43 PM »
So, I have come across some oak. Unfortunately its small branches that have broken in recent high winds.

Hmmm I can feel pendants coming on...

Anyway, as its still green the wood is actually pretty light and not that interesting.

So, I have turned 3 or 4 small drop pendants and one of them is getting the vinegar and wire wool treatment. I have never done this before and have a few questions.

I am using wine vinegar and a chunk of wire wool in the bottom of a small jar.

There is obviously a chemical reaction taking place as there are quite a few bubbles coming from the steel wool... It is also mildy smelly! Hydrochloric acid?

So, do I paint the resulting liquid on or simply drop the piece in for a while and then, I am guessing, it needs to come out and react with the air?

Any tips please?

Paul Disdle

Re: Oak, Vinegar and Wire Wool....
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2013, 03:21:40 PM »
The bubbles are quiet possibly hydrogen as thats a by product of the chemical reaction.

Here is a post from the aaw (http://www.aawforum.org/vbforum/archive/index.php?t-4403.html) about it:

"You’re joking…Steel wool and Vinegar?

If ever there was certain evidence that woodturning is an ancient art, the use of this witches’ brew for staining oak black must be it.

It works – there’s no denying that, but there is a quicker, simpler and cleaner method of achieving exactly the same result, so why not give it a try? But first…a chemistry lesson.

Everyone knows that vinegar is a very dilute solution of acetic acid (which is itself a very weak acid) and that steel is mostly iron. When steel wool is placed in vinegar a chemical reaction takes place:

Iron + acetic acid → iron acetate + hydrogen gas