Author Topic: Regrinding of Chisels  (Read 11664 times)

Devchef1

Regrinding of Chisels
« on: January 25, 2013, 03:44:49 PM »
Well Hello to you all  :)

My first post on the forum so please be gentle lol ,

I am new to the world of Woodturning ( well two weeks in  ;D and really getting the bug and enjoying making plenty of experiments for the log burner LOL

I purchased a small lathe from Ebay which came with 4 chisels then I purchased a second hand set from Ebay (item number 261152793362) of various sizes but i believe them to be of good quality and make.

Whilst i completely understand the need to keep them sharp ( been a chef and using Knives :-) )  i think that the previous owner was lets say "Not the best at sharpening" and even my untrained eyes can see there are issues.

Is there a company or way that I can get my chisels re-honed so that they are correct so that i may start from a good point and keep them sharp and correct.

Hope you can help.

Mike

Offline John

• bronze
Re: Regrinding of Chisels
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 04:21:03 PM »
Welcome,
The easy answer join a club and seek advise from experienced turners. (A list of clubs is on the main AWGB site)
An alternative Buy a grinding from a firm like Robert Sorby. You will be sharpening often (several times for each project)
Hope this helps
John
John English

Offline BOB A JOB

• copper
  • ONE DESERVES ANOTHER.
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2013, 05:13:16 PM »
Hello Fellow Newbie,

Sharpening is a bit daunting isn't it ?

I started using a jig for a standard grindstone that I made from plans in the excellent book by Keith Rowley. I have now got the Sorby Pro Edge, which I find very good and easy to use.

You don't reveal your location but, if you are any where near Margate then you are more than welcome to come round to mine and have a sharpen !  :)

Regards & Welcome,

Bob.  :)  :)
ONE DESERVES ANOTHER.

Devchef1

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2013, 07:18:56 PM »