Author Topic: True Grit / Sanding / Finishing  (Read 1105 times)

Offline morpheus83uk

• iron
True Grit / Sanding / Finishing
« on: November 09, 2023, 08:44:28 PM »
Hello,

I am fairly new to turning so I am still finding my way around the tools, finishing sanding etc..

I am looking at the True Grit abrasive paste and it seems like it cuts down on sanding. So only sand to 240 grit them sanding sealer and then true grit. As it contains beeswax I assume I can't put any additional finish on top of it like melamine lacquer or would it just be another wax finish such as microcrystalline?

The other question I have is around the Chestnut Nyweb pads. I believe these can be used to continue sanding past 400 grit and before the sanding sealer? Then use the orange one? Well the finest to sand back the sanding sealer?

And finally I have purchased some wood wax 22 as it was recommended to be a good finish for a beginner. How does it hold up against things such as finger marks and things when making bowls or say a tea light holder? I haven't made these but just using them as examples as I want a good simple finish I can apply to start with. I also assume I can apply it over other finished to make it glossy?

Apologies for all the questions!

Thank You in advance!

Offline Bill21

• platinum
Re: True Grit / Sanding / Finishing
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2023, 02:02:35 PM »
Abrasive waxes have been around for a long time. If you haven’t bought any yet just get the cheapest you can find. Or even make your own, it’s very easy.

There should be little if any wax left after the process so you may well be able to use more finishes afterwards than you may expect if it’s used on something like sanding sealer. If it’s used on bare wood then I’d only use another wax product just to be on the safe side.

My go to wax that doesn’t leave fingerprints is Microcrystalline Wax. I’ve not tried Wood Wax 22.