Author Topic: Parkside Lathe chuck query  (Read 5325 times)

Offline PaulW

• iron
Parkside Lathe chuck query
« on: January 13, 2022, 06:19:12 PM »
Hi,

As a beginner I have purchased a Parkside lathe.  Could anyone tell me if there is a chuck that will fit this lathe? 

Many thanks

Paul

Offline Bill21

• platinum
Re: Parkside Lathe chuck query
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2022, 08:58:17 PM »
What size is the thread on the spindle?

Edit: You may find this of interest.

https://www.ukworkshop.co.uk/threads/head-stock-adapter-for-parkside-lathe.129822/
« Last Edit: January 13, 2022, 09:18:18 PM by Bill21 »

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2022, 09:30:41 PM »
Hello Paul...I'd not heard of this make, but a quick bit of research shows that Lidl sells this lathe for £60. Whilst none of us is here to judge anyone by the quality of the lathe that they buy, I think it has to be said that at that price, this is not going to be a lathe that is capable of any decent quality of work. A proper woodturning chuck, even of the most basic quality, is going to cost probably double what your lathe cost, so even if you do find out what spindle size it is, I doubt that buying a chuck to fit it would be a worthwhile investment. Perhaps it would be better to use the lathe as it is, enjoy its use and then decide if it is worth upgrading!

Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline Bourbon25

• iron
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2022, 10:28:25 PM »