Author Topic: Ebay lathe, is there anything I should know?  (Read 910 times)

Offline 808raver

• iron
Ebay lathe, is there anything I should know?
« on: November 07, 2021, 02:08:07 AM »
Hi Guys
I have been turning for a few years on a Ferm FHB940 lathe, this was something I picked up for a few quid but lately a few things have gone wrong, some I have fixed but I've been thinking it's not worth keep fixing.
So I have just bought a new (to me) lathe (again not much money) but this one is a bit strange, it says it's just a wood lathe but I think it might be both metal and wood? maybe not but it does have a weird boring attachment as well as a tailstock.
I wonder if members could be so kind and have a look and give me their opinion before I pick it up, it's cash on collection so if it's missing something or it's not great then I might be able to get out of it.
I've tried looking up the lathe but I can't find anything so far. Thank you in advance...
 https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Pinnacle-Excel-Wood-lathe-in-used-condition-with-extras-/275011804856?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2047675.l2557&nma=true&si=nzs%252F1cLtrW9YXIjFXhjKC0aX%252FKo%253D&orig_cvip=true&nordt=true&rt=nc
Andy
Location Ramsgate Kent

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
Re: Ebay lathe, is there anything I should know?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2021, 10:29:47 AM »
that is a copy lathe...

looks very similar to this one..
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/144180774126?hash=item2191d804ee:g:ws4AAOSwMX5cxuHE

i'd say the one you bought is rather rusty and possibly missing cutters for copying.

Offline 808raver

• iron
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2021, 10:54:20 AM »
Thank you, I've never come across one of these before but I'm sure I'll be able to take the guide off if it's in the way. Thank you for your help :) 
Andy
Location Ramsgate Kent

Offline Paul Hannaby

• platinum
    • Creative Woodturning
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2021, 01:50:23 PM »