Author Topic: Help needed : wood too dry ?  (Read 1298 times)

Offline Ayoung1969

• iron
Help needed : wood too dry ?
« on: September 09, 2020, 08:38:04 PM »
Hi all,
I’m relatively new to wood turning and have an issue with a piece of wood I’m hoping someone can advise me on.
I bought a bowl blank to turn but it seems extremely dry and the shavings are coming out like dust and leaving huge tear-outs (see pictures).  I’ve tried sharpening my gouges and turning up the speed on the lathe but I can’t stop the tear-outs happening, and they’re huge, not like a normal one you’d expect to see if your tools are a little dull.

I’ve tried CA glue to stabilise it as well as resin and rotten wood hardener but nothing works and all subsequent layers are dry, dusty and full of holes.

Any advice gratefully received.

Regards,
Adam

Offline John Plater

• gold
Re: Help needed : wood too dry ?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2020, 09:35:45 AM »
Hello Adam,