Author Topic: Sounding bowls  (Read 1743 times)

Offline bertilak

• iron
Sounding bowls
« on: February 07, 2020, 01:17:45 PM »
Hello! This is my first post here although I've been turning for about 30 years! There was a post a few years ago about Tobias Kaye's sounding bowls. I first came across these in an article in a book I once borrowed from a library, needless to say I can't remember anything about the book! I had a go at making one using some old guitar strings and the sound was surprisingly good. What do people think about offering these for sale along with my other work? I haven't copied them but used my memory as a starting point. I'm using brass screws and zither wrest pins rather than machine heads.

Offline bertilak

• iron
Re: Sounding bowls
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2020, 02:14:25 PM »
PS, Does anyone remember the original article? It must have been '70s or'80s and it may have been Fine Woodworking as I'm pretty sure it was black and white. Cheers!

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2020, 03:45:34 PM »
Tobias is very clear on this issue....you MUST NOT make them for sale. Tobias did all the groundwork and fine-honed the designs, which are fully registered in his name.  It is a well patented product!

Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2020, 05:24:07 PM »
Tobias is very clear on this issue....you MUST NOT make them for sale. Tobias did all the groundwork and fine-honed the designs, which are fully registered in his name.  It is a well patented product!

Les

That is true Les but I do not understand how someone can demonstrate and teach someone how to make something and then say if you make one and try to sell it i will take you to Court.

Regards George
The man that never made a mistake never made anything

Offline KevinMc

• iron
  • Beginner
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2020, 06:26:21 PM »