Author Topic: 72-piece segmented birch bowl  (Read 1608 times)

Offline Tero Uotila

• iron
72-piece segmented birch bowl
« on: September 13, 2019, 11:43:11 AM »
Hello again everyone!
I have completed a new project and it is my first try at a larger segmented bowl.  It has 72 pieces of fairly soft birch.
I'm really not too happy about how it turned out technically, but I like the shape and finish on it.
This birch has some moisture damage i believe, it kinda looks like it's dirty or something. It has blackened a bit too much for my taste.
Over all I'm happy with it, after all it's my first try at this.

I made a video about the project, if someone is interested:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDEqCE60bgg&t=84s

Offline Wood spinner

• platinum
Re: 72-piece segmented birch bowl
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2019, 04:57:06 AM »
Good start with a bigger project , The cutting accuracy would drive me bonkers

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2019, 08:47:50 AM »
Another example where the complication of the making seems to be more important to the maker than the form.
I dont think the form is suitable for a segmented piece a more simple form would have worked better in my opinion.
You probably think that because you go to a lot of work to do the segmenting it deserves a complicated shape to show it off when I think just the opposite would work better.
Just my opinion

Regards George
The man that never made a mistake never made anything

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2019, 09:40:26 AM »