Author Topic: Decent quality beginners tool set  (Read 3300 times)

Offline LakeCottage

• iron
  • Total beginner...
Decent quality beginners tool set
« on: February 12, 2019, 07:32:14 PM »
Hi, hoping someone can help me out. I got a lathe today and need to buy some tools for it.

I’m a beginner but not looking for entry level tools, I’d like something decent (not top) quality but have no ideas what brands/makes are good/bad.

Something like a beginners set would be ideal.

What would you say are the essentials to start off with?

Thanks for your help,

Luke
Record Power DML250 10” 5 Speed Mini Lathe

Offline Dave Brookes

• bronze
Re: Decent quality beginners tool set
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2019, 07:48:58 PM »
Luke,
Before you spend any more money, I would say the essentials are to find a club local to you and go along to get some experience and sound advice (check out the AWGB website for clubs) and to get hold of a copy of Keith Rowley’s book Woodturning: A Foundation Course.
Welcome to the world of Woodturning addicts!

Dave
"Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure nineteen pounds nineteen shillings and six pence, result happiness."  (Wilkins Micawber)

Offline LakeCottage

• iron
  • Total beginner...
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2019, 07:58:43 PM »
Great, thanks Dave, will do.
Record Power DML250 10” 5 Speed Mini Lathe

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2019, 10:20:21 PM »
Luke,

Dave has identified the main thing you need to do, and at a club you should find someone who will give you the opportunity to try some of their tools and see what you prefer.

Something you don't say is what you want to make. If it's only bowls, then most of the spindle tools will be a waste for money, at least to begin with. But you will grow into them slowly.