Author Topic: Part 2 of the walnut  (Read 4665 times)

Offline JohnHewes

• copper
Re: Part 2 of the walnut
« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2018, 09:47:47 AM »
I am fairly new to wood turning, and seeing these posts I wonder whether you experienced guys can help, please?
My biggest problem is that I want to make big bowls, and I get offered some nice logs, but they invariably split in storage. I have tried leaving them long and cutting off the ends, coating the ends with PVA glue, rough turning, different places to store them and wrapping in garden fleece.
I store them in my garage, would they be better outside?
What works for you?
Cheers
John

Offline bodrighywood

• platinum
    • Bodrighy Wood
« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2018, 12:04:26 PM »
It depends a lot on the wood as different woods are going to behave differently. If you can then split the wood down the centre as that releases a lot of the tension.

Pete
Turners don't make mistakes, they have design opportunities

Offline John Plater

• gold
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2018, 02:23:58 PM »
Alternatively turn the wood green and then season the bowl.
ATB John
If I had a better lathe, I would be able to show my ineptitude more effectively.

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2018, 07:37:39 PM »
you need to find a place that is not too dry to start with.

always rough turn and seal the endgrain as more will survive.

where are you john hewes?

Offline JohnHewes

• copper
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2018, 11:21:05 PM »
'Thanks, gents.

Do you think the garage is too dry and I’d be better keeping it outside? I have a big overhang on the garage eaves and thought about a long rack just under the eaves, where it would be out of the rain.

My best results have been rough turning first, and I have tried making very thin platters and dishes, but there is always too much distortion then to make them useable, or attractive.

I am in Northants, NN14 3ED.

Regards
John

Offline Derek