Author Topic: Which lathe?? 🤔  (Read 6541 times)

Offline Havo

• iron
Which lathe?? 🤔
« on: June 16, 2018, 10:58:24 AM »
Hi everyone..
I’m new here and looking for some advice.
I have been turning for about 10 months or so and it’s time to upgrade from my second hand £60 draper WTL30 lathe with the knackered bearings to something that’s more suited to my needs. Everything bowl and vase related and want outboard ability for some big stuff.
So, I have narrowed my needs down to two lathes (maybe 3).. but if any of you have any other advice.. I’m all ears 👍

So.. the 2 I have most interest in are: 

Coronet Herald Electronic Variable Speed Lathe

Or

Axminster Trade Series AT1628VS

There is a sneaky third but don’t know enough about them : Killinger 1400
I’m new here so be gentle please 🤓👍

Thanks in advance ✌️

Offline Redtails4

• copper
Re: Which lathe?? 🤔
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2018, 11:24:04 AM »
Hi
The axminster 1628 lathe is the one I would go for , and being a member of the awgb you may get a discount of between 5% and 10%  ask at the counter of your local store if you decide to go down that route.
Also free delivery plus brillent after sales service.
The killinger  lathe will leave you with empty pockets two hundred pounds delivery.
They have reputation for being well engineered.
Also have a look at Simon hopes range of lathes.

Offline Havo

• iron
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2018, 12:36:08 PM »
Thanks for the swift reply Red, I will have a look at the Simon hope lathes now.. cheers
 👍

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2018, 12:46:01 PM »
can't speak for the lathes you have mentioned as i've never owned them but my lathe is the jet 3520b and it is the dogs doodahs. if you want to get into serious turning just think "the bigger the better".

there is currently one for sale.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Jet-3520b-heavy-duty-lathe-with-350mm-extention-bed/223017025604?hash=item33ecd9c044:g:WWMAAOSw9NhbHXih

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum