Author Topic: Noob Chuck choice for Poolwood superlathe  (Read 3567 times)

Offline SimonW

• iron
Noob Chuck choice for Poolwood superlathe
« on: March 31, 2018, 09:40:08 PM »
First of all, I'm a bit new to woodturning so please forgive any idiocy that follows!

I've recently bought a second hand Poolwood PW28-40 Superlathe. So far I've been muddling through with the chuck and chuck attachments that came with it. From what I can gather, this is a mixture of original chuck with third party parts. Unfortunately the screw chuck attachment is quite difficult to get centred, and once it is centred, can move a fraction once turning, no matter how tight it is in the chuck. Also, there's no faceplate. In short, I'm thinking it may be time to update the chuck etc.

My first question is- does anyone know what the spindle size and thread is for this machine? I'm pretty sure it's a 35mm diameter just from measuring it, but I can't seem to find out the specs for definite before narrowing down my chuck choices.

Question 2. Ultimately I'd like to be able to make best use of this lathes capacity and turn large diameter pieces. Is there any chuck/accessories people would recommend that would be a good choice for now, but also for turning larger pieces as my experience (and bravery!) grows?

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: Noob Chuck choice for Poolwood superlathe
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2018, 10:38:15 PM »
Sizes for spindles are given here.

https://www.toolpost.co.uk//pages/Chucks___Accessories/Spindle_Data/spindle_data.html

It says your spindle size is 1.1/2" x 6 tpi.

Secondly wood chucks are self centring, you say yours is difficult to centre them can move. It is an engineering 4 jaw chuck that you can set each jaw individually?