Author Topic: 25mmx2 thread  (Read 6249 times)

Offline TonyinSuffolk

• iron
25mmx2 thread
« on: March 25, 2018, 03:23:14 PM »
I have a tyme avon lathe which needs a 25x2mm thread for the face plate,  does any one know where i can get a couple and also the tailstock seems to be a morse2 but the headstock seems bigger, any comments about that, as you can tell i am a novice so be gentle

Tony

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: 25mmx2 thread
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2018, 04:14:38 PM »
I know the Toolpost do faceplates, but not if they do them in the tread you want, you could call them.

The other idea is you could buy one of their VersaChucks, you can have one made with the thread you want, it is a listed option - https://www.toolpost.co.uk//pages/Chucks___Accessories/VersaChuck/versachuck.html,

Then you could buy a faceplate ring (or 2) that is held by the jaws that come with the chuck - https://www.toolpost.co.uk//pages/Chucks___Accessories/APTC_Chuck_Jaws/aptc_chuck_jaws.html#faceplaterings.

Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

Offline burywoodturners

• gold
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2018, 05:54:04 PM »
we had a Tyme Cub for the clubs first demo lathe and the had a 20mm * 2mm thread, we had to get new insert specially made by a club member to fit my Axminster chuck.
This explains why we sold it and another lathe.
Tonyin Suffolk, are you any where near Bury St Edmunds? our club meets every second Monday of the month and the next meeting is 9 April
Ron

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2018, 05:59:29 PM »
Hello Tony and welcome to the forum.

Firstly, there is a very useful page of information about the Tyme Avon on the www.lathes.co.uk website at http://www.lathes.co.uk/tyme/.