Author Topic: Hello from a newbie  (Read 2807 times)

Offline andyspark

• iron
Hello from a newbie
« on: March 04, 2018, 10:36:23 AM »
Hi everyone,

Im new to the wood turning scene , just bought a sealey sm1308 lathe and i'm looking for constructive advice please

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
Re: Hello from a newbie
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 11:11:30 AM »
Firstly, welcome to woodturning and welcome to the forum.
Secondly, your question is so open-ended that many of us could each write a book of useful advise, and there's already dozens of them written, published and freely available. However, if I were to offer a grain of advise, it would be to consider what you want from woodturning and how you see your future. You've bought a Sealey lathe which will see you ok to get a feel for the craft, but it might not be robust enough for the future, if you want to make larger, heavier pieces. So, working on the possibility that you might upgrade in the future, think carefully before you buy sundry equipment that specifically fits your lathe, because they might not fit whatever lathe you buy in the future and a lot of expense can be tied up in accessories.
Buy the best quality tools and accessories that you can  afford and get some first hand advise, whether it's from a woodturning club near you somewhere, or whether it's from a professional wood turner who provides training. It is possible to go it alone, but you'll learn the slow and hard way, and possibly the less-than-safe way as well.
Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2018, 05:02:49 PM »