Author Topic: Beginners Sharpening Setup  (Read 3463 times)

Offline scottwoodburn

• iron
Beginners Sharpening Setup
« on: January 11, 2018, 03:58:50 PM »
Friends,

I’m just beginning my woodturning life and want to put together a basic sharpening setup. I’ve been reading around the forum and want to ask for recommendations on the kit I would need to begin sharpening up my tools. I don’t want to spend much, my good lady wouldn’t like that, so I am on a strict budget. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

Scott

Offline malcy

• gold
Re: Beginners Sharpening Setup
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 04:12:32 PM »
I have the Sorby Proedge and love it. Easy to use and setup. This system gives a flat grind to the bevel rather than a slightly concave one you will get with a wheel, and i think that is better but others may not necessarily agree. It is fairly expensive unless you can pick up a used one somewhere. Hope this helps. Malcolm.

Offline Dave Brookes

• bronze
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 06:04:36 PM »
Scott, I mainly use the Wolverine system on a Record grinder with wide wheels.

Dave
"Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure nineteen pounds nineteen shillings and six pence, result happiness."  (Wilkins Micawber)

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2018, 06:36:57 PM »
I've just bought a Sorby Proedge but fully understand that it might be out of your current budget. However, for the last three years I managed well with a very basic system. A Record 8" bench grinder with a £35 jig bought off eBay set on one wheel, which was fine for sharpening all my gouges, plus a simple, tilt-able platform made from scrap timber; this was used for all scrapers, skews and for the spindle roughing gouge.
Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline Lazurus

• platinum
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2018, 07:36:44 AM »