Author Topic: Record Power Grinder  (Read 5885 times)

Offline Mike313

• gold
  • Ancora Imparo
Record Power Grinder
« on: December 31, 2017, 08:42:54 PM »
Hi Folks,
Beginner here. I have only recently begun my adventure in woodturning with the purchase of a secondhand SIP lathe and some tools. I now need to turn my attention to sharpening those tools. I have only turned three practice pieces so far, but have been surprized at the amount of shavings and wood dust generated. I am conscious that these might present a fire hazard if sparks are generated, such as when using a grinder to sharpen chisels, gouges etc.
I was therefore thinking about buying the Record Power grinder shown here -

http://www.recordpower.co.uk/product/wg200-8-wet-stone-sharpening-system-package-deal#.WklJzuQiGUk

It seemed to me that sparks would be eliminated completely since the grinding wheel runs in a water bath; I thought this might also be an advantage in that overheating of the tool tip would be less likely.
Am I going in the right direction?
Ta in advance,
Mike.

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
Re: Record Power Grinder
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2017, 11:06:01 PM »
Sharpening your tools is almost a science of its own.
Firstly, don't worry too much about the sparks coming off the grinding wheels. I have never heard of a workshop being set on fire caused by the sparks.
Secondly, a water cooled system will give you a much better grind than any other system, but it comes at a price. The kit is expensive and it needs constant attention. I wouldn't recommend it for a total beginner.
A normal bench grinder with a pink or white wheel and a simple grinding jig will do all you need right now.