Author Topic: SIP Lathe question  (Read 3860 times)

Offline Mike313

• gold
  • Ancora Imparo
SIP Lathe question
« on: December 31, 2017, 08:32:50 PM »
Hi Folks,
Complete beginner here. In order to 'test the waters' regarding taking up woodturning as a hobby, I bought a secondhand SIP lathe (Model 01360 10-speed) and some second hand tools. I didn't pay a lot for it, on the basis that I could probably get the money back if I wanted to re-sell it. However, the bug has bitten and I am quite sure I will be enjoying my woodturning for years to come :)
I have a few questions and would really appreciate some advice.
(1) The speed is regulated by a lever. The manual says to start and stop the lathe in the lowest speed. This is fine but I find the level very stiff when I try to increase the speed from the lowest setting; it takes a fair bit of hand strength to get it up to the number '5' speed setting. Anybody know why that should be?
(2) I have only turned a couple of small pieces so far but the pieces seem to vibrate beyond the point where I have turned it to a preliminary circular shape, i.e. it should be concentric in shape and weight and presumably should not be unbalanced. I know the frame of the SIP is light, so I weighed it down with about 20 bricks, but it hasn't eliminated the vibration, is it likely that bearings are worn? Maybe I should just add more bricks?
(3) if it's not too silly a question, do lathes need to be serviced?
Thanks in advance,
Mike.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2017, 11:37:24 PM by Mike313 »

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
Re: SIP Lathe question
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2017, 10:19:49 PM »
Hello Mike

These lathes need oiling ocasionaly, from memory you remove a cover at the back and there is a shaft you oil.What is important you do not move the lever when the lathe is stopped always make sure it is turning when you ajust the speed.
you need to turn quite slowly to get the piece into balance and then slowly build the speed.