Author Topic: Help with deciding on a lathe  (Read 5870 times)

Offline KaysProjects

• iron
Help with deciding on a lathe
« on: December 01, 2017, 06:48:39 PM »
Hello!
Please bear with me this is my first time forum-ing.
i self taught myself how to turn about a year ago, I started with pens and moved onto small bowls, using the mini charnwood. But now I've caught the bug and want to start doing bigger bowls, so I need a bigger lathe. & Was wondering if anyone had any knowledge with the Axminster AWVSL1000, or any idea of other lathes in that price range that may be right for me. I am not very knowledgable on lathes, and at only 23 years of age, I hope to expand my knowledge and capabilities :D
Thanks in advance :)

Offline John D Smith

• platinum
Re: Help with deciding on a lathe
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2017, 07:39:28 PM »

Hello Kay and welcome to the Forum you are asking the question in the right place to get some very useful help I have had no experience

with the Lathe in question but I think you are starting looking at one of the best suppliers of power tools etc. also my advice would be to

join one of the many woodturning clubs in the UK if there is one in your area please advise on this forum and someone will be able to

guide you in the right direction also consider having some lessons.

Regards John
John Smith

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2017, 07:42:04 PM »
I'm guessing your name is Kay, so welcome to the forum.

There are as many right as wrong answers to your question. The first thing you need to ask yourself is 'What is it you want to turn'; Spindles or Faceplate work; how big or long.

The AWVSL1000 is a reasonable step but I've no doubt you'll soon outgrow it and want something bigger.

Tell us a little more about your aspirations and we will help you.