Author Topic: Ring (cup) centres to fit in a chuck?  (Read 3202 times)

Offline wilfy100

• iron
Ring (cup) centres to fit in a chuck?
« on: November 14, 2017, 02:42:33 PM »
Hi everyone,
 I am very new to wood turning. So much so that my first and only bowl made from green Oak decided to split virtually all the way through. I have quite a large amount of green Oak, could anyone suggest the best way to prepare this for turning, is leaving it for a long time the only way to dry it. I suspect Oak might be very prone to cracking, I have some Ash and Mulberry wood that seems to be noticeably more stable than Oak.
I would like to turn some chisel handles from the Ash wood, I would like to use a ring (cup) centre in the chuck to provide the drive. I am somewhat limited in that my lathe has a 1" x 8 tpi mandrel so morse taper centres cannot be used. I was hoping to get a ring centre with a parallel shank that I could hold in a chuck but I have not found one of a suitable size. I have seen a suitable ring centre used for this in an American youtube video, it was pointed out that if you got a catch with this the wood would just slip round on the ring  and so was better from a safety point of view. Any help with this would be much appreciated.
                                                                                                                                                                       Cheers Ian

Offline Lazurus

• platinum
Re: Ring (cup) centres to fit in a chuck?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2017, 02:53:47 PM »
Green oak can be turned to near final thickness and left to dry, I aim for 1" thickness and have good results with that, then finish turn. Or depending on the item turn to final thickness and let nature do what it will, if the wall edge is reasonably thin it will dry fairly quickly and can give interesting results.