Author Topic: Eucalypt bowl  (Read 5930 times)

Offline Tony_a

• bronze
Eucalypt bowl
« on: October 16, 2017, 10:29:24 AM »
Greetings All
I am relatively new to wood turning and while this is not my first bowl it is the first that I feel comfortable posting here.
Was turned from a old, dry and deeply cracked eucalypt burl. I chose to stabilise it with black pigmented resin prior to turning.
Bowl is 170 by 90, finished with poly, rubbed with 0000 then waxed

I am keen to improve my turning skills so any comments and criticisms are welcome

Tony
Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened. (Churchill)

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
Re: Eucalypt bowl
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2017, 10:39:58 AM »
I like this bowl a lot it is a very nice effect the way tyou have filled the cracks.
Well done

Regards George.
The man that never made a mistake never made anything

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2017, 10:46:05 AM »
I'd say that is a very decent effort for a first bowl. I am with George: very nice effect with the black fill.
One piece of advice: A completely flat foot can catch you out in the long run. Wood is never 100% at rest, it always moves a little with changes in the weather. And Eucalyptus is particularly know for moving a lot. In consequence you are probably better off with a foot that has a ring and the inside of the ring is recessed a little. If the bowl warps, you have a much better change of it still standing on three points (and therefore being stable).

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2017, 06:19:58 PM »
That is a very attractive bowl, both from the point of view of the form, and of the way that you have stabilised the wood.
Well done...Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline edbanger

• platinum
    • Olivers Woodturning