Author Topic: Microwaving - blank or rough turn first?  (Read 3071 times)

Offline Dancie

• bronze
Microwaving - blank or rough turn first?
« on: August 25, 2016, 04:13:22 PM »
I’m a newbie, but I do wonder how many years I’m allowed to use that phrase. :-\

What I should say is that I’m an enthusiastic amateur who doesn’t turn as often as I’d like.

I know there have been previous posts about microwaving wood and I did a search on this site but couldn’t find what I was looking for.

I have an end sealed, bark on, Birch log about 7” long and about 7” across, it has a 25% moisture content.

I intend to turn an end grain hollow form with about ¼” thickness this coming weekend.

I thought that I might try reducing the moister content by microwaving.

My questions are:

1.   Should I rough turn the wood to 1” thickness and then microwave it or should I microwave the blank before I start?

2.   If I microwave, I guess I should remove the end wax first, right? And should I also remove the bark?

Any help suggestion opinions etc would be appreciated.

Dancie.
Mistakes are proof that at least you're trying

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
Re: Microwaving - blank or rough turn first?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2016, 05:14:58 PM »
You would always rough turn the form first and then do the microwaving.