Author Topic: Tuition ??  (Read 5411 times)

Jacktownhill

Tuition ??
« on: October 05, 2011, 03:38:42 PM »
I've been turning now & strictly as a Hobby, for some 7 years.

During that time & largely self taught. I have graduated from a fairly basic Record Power Lathe, onto a Nova DVR.

However, I recently fell across a barely used VB36 & a whole host of accessories. I purchased the lot & more or less expected my previous knowledge to see me into the full workings of the new equipment.

After a few attempts & with only limited success. I'd like to find some specific tuition on the VB36 Machine?? Can anyone point me to a patient Tutor Please ??

I'd quite like to have the lessons on my own machine - But fully understand the logistical difficulties involved - Still if there's any tuition within reasonable distance of the Welsh Herefordshire area PLEASE let me know??

Jack

Offline woodndesign

• platinum
  • Cannock Staffordshire
Re: Tuition ??
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2011, 04:01:51 PM »
Hi Jack,    If you try Hegner's site http://www.hegner.co.uk/ ...  you may find information, if not, they had a DVD on the VB 36,  I got one for the HDB 200 at Yandles show one year, it's for anyone interested in buying one really, but it shows the lathe in action, as well as making something, the VB's could explain much the same as to what can be done an how.

Cheers.        David
« Last Edit: October 05, 2011, 04:04:01 PM by woodndesign »
"It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,"  By Dickens ''''

Andy Coates

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2011, 04:37:03 PM »
Hello Jack,

If Roger still owned the company he'd have probably given you some help personally. From what I hear the new owners are less than forthcoming with individual owners, having interests elsewhere in the school sector. So this leaves you with the task of locating a tutor who happens to own a VB. Two that spring to mind are Tony Walton (Suffolk), Tracy Owen (Cheshire), but I'm certain there are many more.