Author Topic: My first box  (Read 4566 times)

Jon Holden

My first box
« on: August 18, 2011, 10:54:42 AM »
This is my first attempt at a box. I have used boxwood to make a cocktail stick holder after my partner complained that everytime she went to get them out of the cupboard they ended up all over the workshop and apart from playing a game which was popular in the sixties that was of now use to her whatsoever. So, to keep the peace I turned up this little peice.

I would encourage helpful critique as I am very much a beginner at this (turning in general not just boxes)

My thanks go to David who has encouraged me to post photos of my work here.

Offline Martin Lawrence

• Global Moderator
  • gold
  • Kidderminster Worcestershire
Re: My first box
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 12:28:27 PM »
Hi Jon,

This looks a nice piece of crisp turning and the thread chasing looks good too, a good tip for cocktail stick holders is to make and insert that is attached to a lift off lid so you can raise the lid the sticks also rise one can be removed and the the lid lowered back in place.

Keep up the posting.

Cheers Martin.
Martin Lawrence

Offline woodndesign

• platinum
  • Cannock Staffordshire
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2011, 02:25:05 AM »

OM ...  Well Jon ...   I'm so glad the push worked, what a result, this as a 1st box and threaded too ..  is stunning, my 1st was just a push fit lid, an it still fits ..   :D ...

It takes to post a piece to get feedback, good or bad, it's how we learn, as with Martin's tip, we all benefit from what can be said.

This delightful piece could make a nice little earner too ..  it's just the time making the cocktail sticks ...   :) ..  :D ...  ;D ....

Really like it, well done.

David
"It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,"  By Dickens ''''

Offline Dave Atkinson

• Global Moderator
  • gold
  • Macclesfield
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2011, 08:34:18 AM »
llo Jon