Author Topic: First Ever Lathe Recommendations  (Read 5674 times)

Offline scottwoodburn

• iron
First Ever Lathe Recommendations
« on: October 17, 2015, 02:55:36 PM »
Hi all. First ever post from a wood turning beginner! Very excited to start learning the craft and will soon be purchasing my first ever lathe. I was hoping the members of the forum could guide me to a good lathe for an absolute beginner. Prefrably not too expensive!

thanks for any and all advice

Scott

Offline TONY MALIN

• gold
  • Rugby Warwickshire
Re: First Ever Lathe Recommendations
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2015, 03:08:16 PM »
I suggest you look at the Axminster range.

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2015, 03:54:36 PM »
Axminster good prices and good after sales.

Regards George
The man that never made a mistake never made anything

Offline Dancie

• bronze
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2015, 05:01:37 PM »
Have a look at the Axminster Hobby Series AH-1218 Woodturning Lathe package for £379.46 normally over £500 - it includes:

Axminster Clubman SK100 Woodturning Chuck with C jaws

Axminster HSS Woodturning Tools Set
3/8"(9.5mm) Bowl gouge
3/4"(19mm) Roughing gouge
3/8" (9.5mm) Spindle gouge
3/4" (19mm) Round nose scraper
3/8" (9.5mm) Parting tool
1" (25.4mm) Oval skew chisel

Axminster FM952 Safety Visor and JSP Martcare Moulded Valved Respirators
Mistakes are proof that at least you're trying

Offline fuzzyturns

• platinum
    • Fuzzy Turns
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2015, 05:08:10 PM »
I agree with the other 2 gentlemen. Depending on budget, I would either go with the AT1416VS (£750) or the AH1218VS (£300). George has a few of the AT1416VS, and I have used it a few times in other places. A very nice lathe and will go a very long way. I would definitely recommend variable speed. If you have access to a club, seek advice there, too.