Author Topic: Burning wood  (Read 3138 times)

Offline Haggy

• bronze
  • "You can keep your ashes in that " Wife
Burning wood
« on: October 04, 2015, 04:54:38 PM »
I am a school teacher and am after advice on how I can best help a pupil add texture to an oak clock she is making. I would love to attempt shot blasting the surface but we haven't the equipment, we tried burning the surface and using a wire brush.  She tells me she doesn't want any carbon remaining.  Does anybody know a method of getting rid of the carbon?  Her thinking is to laser engrave the oak after making the grain 'pop' out, this is the reason she wants to remove the carbon.
        Any help would be much appreciated.
               Many thanks
                        Haggy

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: Burning wood
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2015, 05:52:05 PM »
Hi Haggy,

There are many choices for oak.

If you are going to scortch it do it hard and don't tickle it with the flame. Then brush out with a bronze or stainless steel brush (the £1 type shops sell packs of them).  The best finish I've found to seal it is Hard wax oil.

To bring out the grain without burning, put a rotary wire brush in a drill or the lathe and run it along the grain, it will quickly remove the softer part of the annual growth.

You have a laser engraver, I'm jealous already.
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

Offline Haggy

• bronze
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2015, 06:49:31 PM »
Thanks- as always Brian. 
I never thought of using a rotary brush.  I will certainly give that a go.
The laser cutter is brilliant- I would love to own one too!!

Offline John D Smith

• platinum
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2015, 07:34:24 PM »

Hi Haggy,
               Just a word of caution if you use a Rotary wire brush make sure you wear safety goggles some of the wire has a habit of flying out.

Regards John