Author Topic: Thread converters...  (Read 7848 times)

Offline ChrisF

• gold
Thread converters...
« on: April 09, 2015, 07:47:45 AM »
Can you get converters to allow me to use my current chuck which has a 3\4" x 16tpi thread on a spindle that is 1.5" x 6tpi?

Offline GBF

• platinum
    • Artistry in wood
Re: Thread converters...
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2015, 08:19:50 AM »
What chuck is it some have a removable backplate and some have an insert some your are stuck with what you have got.
From the size I guess you have a graduate lathe your best option is probably a new Axminster chuck.

Regards George
The man that never made a mistake never made anything

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2015, 08:35:12 AM »
I agree with George's comments, not being an engineer I wonder if the strain placed on a 3/4"thread when used on an 1.5" spindle may be detrimental to the chuck.
I could be wrong of course but bear in mind that one is 4 times the size of the other. I have a graduate and the smallest thread I used (with an adaptor) is 1"x8.
     One of the problems using a thread adaptor is it throws the chuck out from the headstock therby creating vibration instead of dampening it.
 Always go for the correct thread if you can.

Offline ChrisF

• gold
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2015, 12:16:43 PM »
Thanks Guys, new chuck it is.  When exactly does the cash outflow diminish??   ;D

Offline The Bowler Hatted Turner

• platinum
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2015, 12:37:04 PM »
Been doing it for nigh on 43 years now and no sign of the cash drainage slowing down.

Offline ChrisF

• gold
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2015, 12:48:43 PM »
Been doing it for nigh on 43 years now and no sign of the cash drainage slowing down.

Oh well, not that keen on money anyway.....

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2015, 04:57:44 PM »

Oh well, not that keen on money anyway.....

i'll take what you don't want then ;D

Offline ChrisF

• gold