Author Topic: Vase/Hollow form from new member  (Read 4458 times)

GREEN MAN

Vase/Hollow form from new member
« on: April 07, 2015, 11:09:54 PM »
Hello folks apologies for my sense of humour in my first post!  :-[ Time to try and make amends/friends and put some work on the forum.

Your turn to get your own back so C & C gratefully received! (Feels like I'm about to appear on 'Dragons Den')  :)

This one measures approx. 14" x 9" I'll let you experts guess what the wood is!

Offline edbanger

• platinum
    • Olivers Woodturning
Re: Vase/Hollow form from new member
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2015, 11:28:46 PM »
Hi green man

I'm no expert but I have to say I really like this  :)

I'll take a wild guess at the wood cherry

All the best

Ed

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2015, 11:55:29 PM »
really nice work there mate.

looks like either horse chestnut or a maple

Offline woodndesign

• platinum
  • Cannock Staffordshire
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2015, 12:40:22 AM »

Wynn ... is it.

That's a really nice piece, slightly over large image to see the form as a whole, yet sharp details and nicely photographed.

Not viewing the whole form the neck could be a little to wide, yet that's my opinion.

Nice light mellow glow, not mentioned the finish, oil (Danish) and buffed or only oil, it's well finished for Willow. 

Nice first post.  Cheers  David
"It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,"  By Dickens ''''

Offline Graham

• platinum
  • Chairman. www.DidcotTurners.club
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2015, 08:36:23 AM »
I am not sure I follow the currant obsession with holey pieces but I do like the shape. It flows beautifully and is a good looking piece.
Regards
Graham
I have learnt the first rule of woodturning.
The internal diameter should never exceed the external width.
Nor the internal depth, the external height.
Does that make me an expert now ?

Offline Mark Sanger

• platinum
    • Mark Sanger Web Site