Author Topic: Intro  (Read 2707 times)

Offline ChrisF

• gold
Intro
« on: March 11, 2015, 04:16:31 PM »
Hi, thought this might the best place to introduce myself as a newbie....I'm pretty new to turning (about a month now) using a Clarke 37" lathe a friend had in the back of a barn, along with some Sorby tools and a variety of lumps of wood from various trees we've had trimmed or taken down over the last 6/7 years.  I've attached few pics of what I've done so far.  

Pleased to have found this forum, some really interesting and inspiring work here.

« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 04:18:03 PM by ChrisF »

Offline ChrisF

• gold
Re: Intro
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2015, 04:35:50 PM »
Another couple of pics....all comments / crits etc most appreciated....I've a very thick skin and am keen to learn :-)

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2015, 05:39:23 PM »
Hi Chris, and welcome...always good to see new names cropping up. You seem to have a distinctive personal style going on there, and of all the pieces, it's the very first that impresses me the most. It has a good, flowing curve. Perhaps the most impressive feature, especially for one so new to the art, is the finish that you are getting. Design/shape/form will all develop as time goes by, but it's rare to see such a good effort at getting the finish right from the start.

Given that you've made that comment about thick skin.....I have to say that I really don't go for the shape of the final piece - it's too fragmented for me.

Well done and thanks for sharing these with us.

Les
Education is important, but wood turning is importanter.

Offline bodrighywood

• platinum
    • Bodrighy Wood
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2015, 06:06:27 PM »