Author Topic: Roughing out wet wood  (Read 2949 times)

Offline Derek

• platinum
Roughing out wet wood
« on: March 14, 2014, 02:47:26 PM »
I normally have used dry blanks.

I am spending a little time cutting some logs into blank sized pieces, this is fine for the bowl type blanks but I have some branches (still to be cut) that I am wanting to use some as vase shaped and boxes by turning them end grain is there anything I should watch for.

In other words can I rough turn them to aid faster drying times without any problems splitting.

I know that I probably lose some as drying is not an exact science at home

Offline edbanger

• platinum
    • Olivers Woodturning
Re: Roughing out wet wood
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2014, 06:35:03 PM »
Hi Derek

I'm not an expert, I've only been turning a short time, but I have spoken to a few master turners about this and have turned about 10 items myself. I have had conflicting views so I have turned a few items to around 30mm and the others to around 6 - 8mm some have been oiled some have been left and a couple have been covered in a watered down pva, I have not waxed anything yet has I have no wax.

All have been left in a draft free space in the workshop and I weigh them weekly, none of them have cracked as yet, and all are drying weighing less each week.

Mark Sanger book Hollow forms advocates different types of methods  such as wrapping in bust bin liners and checking every 2 or 3 days turning the bag inside out on each check, or wrapping in news paper for rough turned forms. When dealing with finished thickness forms he recommends to use finishing oils or lemon oil but making sure that you remove any excess so the light oil is just soaked in to the fibers and then place in an opened bin liner so I'm trying this as well.