Author Topic: Axminster RDC100 Dust extraction  (Read 9351 times)

Offline Danny

• iron
Axminster RDC100 Dust extraction
« on: November 25, 2013, 09:17:02 PM »
Hi all,
I am new to woodturning and in the process of setting up a workshop in my garage.
I am at present looking at dust extraction and would like to know if anyone has used the Axminster RDC100.
I would appreciate any advice on this.

Danny

Offline Bryan Milham

• Administrator
  • platinum
  • I’ve had my patience tested; I’m negative
Re: Axminster RDC100 Dust extraction
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2013, 11:02:51 PM »
Danny,

I have the RDC100. It's not a bad machine. I only have a small garage, so space is a premium, it fit's under my lathe and the posable hose can be positioned where I need the extraction. But...

It is noisy. It's basically a 'Henry', (the Vacuum cleaner with eye's), with a larger metal collecting bin and 4" hose. So I only use it when needed, most of the time I have and use a ceiling mounted Air Filter system.

If it's to be your only or first Dust Extraction system I'd certainly suggest otherwise, especially if you have space for something just a little larger, like the AWEDE2 Extractor or one of the next sizes up. Far quieter and expandable to a piped system around the workshop.
Oh Lord, Lead me not into temptation…

...Oh who am I kidding, follow me, I know a shortcut!

Offline woodndesign

• platinum
  • Cannock Staffordshire
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2013, 11:09:34 PM »
Hi Dan, and welcome to the Forum and onto the slippery slope, but great fun of Woodturning.

Is this the model 'H' http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-hobby-series-rdc100h-vacuum-extractor ...  Being out of Axminster in the first place, you'll have good backup and service.

On the Vac. it looks very much like the early Ax WV100 Vac. which I have and I've had no problems at all with it ...