Author Topic: Silly newby questions.... Sorry!  (Read 4400 times)

arcos

Silly newby questions.... Sorry!
« on: January 20, 2013, 11:58:15 AM »
So, as you know I am not that experienced and a question I have had in my head for a while but not really been able to formulate it properly is...

I have a log, for example, that is 5" diameter max... The log is NOT uniformly round and when measured across from a different side is only 4" across. When cutting a piece off the log to turn how long should I cut the piece for turning?

I am assuming that if the length is too long then I will be turning a lot of waste. If the length is too short then I will be turning a bowl that is less than is possible maximum size?

Does that make sense to anyone  ???

Oh, I have just thought of another question....

I have a tree that, at the lower end has a 'splayed' out profile, with a few remains of cut branches etc etc... So, in essence, its an 'odd' shape.

I could just try and turn it in the 'normal way and spend some considerable time making shavings and dust to end up with a bowl.

How would you deal with something like this? Is there something more interesting that I could try to do? Is there a 'clever' way of dealing with something like this?

Thanks for your help in advance!

Offline BrianH

• gold
Re: Silly newby questions.... Sorry!
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2013, 12:27:54 PM »
Hi Arc, me again
Firstly there is no such thing as a silly newby question, only one that the rest of us may have forgotten that we used to ask....if you see what I mean.
You don't make it clear but sound like you are trying to make endgrain bowls. Nothing wrong with that but side grain is more usual because that makes a better job of displaying the inherant grain pattern. It also gives you the chance to dump the log's pithe, which is the cause of almost all movement and splitting problems.