Author Topic: Comment on September Revolutions  (Read 696 times)

Offline Tim Pettigrew

• bronze
    • Converting a garage to a woodturning workshop
Comment on September Revolutions
« on: September 04, 2023, 10:56:18 AM »
As always I enjoyed receiving my copy of Revolutions when it dropped through the letter box last Friday.  The article by young turner Harry Rodwell was good in exemplifying the welcome take-up of wood turning by the younger generation.  However I was concerned on page 8, (paragraph 1.1) where he stated that he trued-up his cross-grained bowl blank using a Spindle Roughing Gouge. I hope that someone will tactfully educate him to the fact that this puts him at risk of serious injury.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2023, 10:58:21 AM by Tim Pettigrew »

Offline Bill21

• platinum
Re: Comment on September Revolutions
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2023, 06:21:58 PM »
I’m no expert on wood turning tools, especially gouges so I won’t disagree with anyone on the subject.

However, I’ve seen several professional demonstrations where spindle gouges were used on cross grain pieces and bowl gouges were used on spindle work.

Personally I’m going to stick with not using a spindle gouge on a bowl but others seem to.  ;)

I haven’t checked these out myself yet so there’s probably a caveat in there somewhere. I’m just posting for interest.

The top five hits on a Google search:

I’ve been meaning to buy one of these but never got round to it.   :D

https://www.ashleyilestoolstore.co.uk/turning-tools/multipurpose/12mm-1-2-martin-pidgen-all-rounder-multi-purpose-gouge

Offline Twisted Trees

• platinum
  • Bristol, UK
    • Twisted Trees
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2023, 06:33:56 PM »