Author Topic: Newbie wondering what to do  (Read 1873 times)

Offline Spiggy

• iron
Newbie wondering what to do
« on: June 03, 2019, 09:58:58 PM »
Hi all,
Just thought I'd join the forum and get involved a bit. I'm new to the lathe and woodturning and any sort of woodwork really. I live just outside Norwich and last year I inherited a Record Power Power DML36-SH Mk2 from my granddad who, at the ripe old age of 96 has decided it's a bit too much for him now. I've had a little play around on the lathe and managed to knock up a rather oversized honey dibber and just done a few practice pieces carving out random shapes on spindles but not really made anything yet. I've got a few different attachments for the Nova 3 scroll chuck, various gouges and chisels (although I have no idea what a lot of them are)

Anyway, I've just managed to find someone at work who had some large pieces of wood from a tree they had just cut back and said I could have them. So, now I have about 2 pieces about 1ft diameter by 2 ft length, 2 pieces are about 1ft x 1ft and without knowing the technical term, sort of Y shaped and 4 pieces about 8 inch diameter by 3ft length... What do I do with them?  :D I've heard turning green wood is maybe a bit easier for beginners so do I just cut them up and slap on the lathe? I've seen various YouTube videos of woodwork witchcraft involving covering the ends in PVA, wrapping in clingfilm. Do I need to chop these big bits up smaller and leave them to dry out a bit? Do I just cut them into simple disks or I've read about quarter sawing but I'm not sure if these are big enough for that.

I know there's loads of options and everyone has their own ways but I'm just putting it out there to see what people think and to get a nudge in the right direction. I also want to get on and make something otherwise I'll just be acquiring tools but not actually doing anything with them.

Thanks,
Baz