Author Topic: Safety?  (Read 3143 times)

Offline Mike313

• gold
  • Ancora Imparo
Safety?
« on: December 22, 2018, 11:07:00 PM »
Hi one and all,
I've been occupying myself this evening by watching YouTube videos while SWMBO is out visiting . . .
The video I've been watching is put out by Record Power on the subject of using the Record Coronet Herald lathe.
I'll put a link below.
The point that worries me in the video starts about 7mimutes in, where he is talking about all the safety measures he is taking BUT:
He has no face shield;
He is standing with one hand either side of the blank (i.e. if it came adrift, it is GUARANTEED to hit him) as he increases the speed.
I thought you were supposed to stand to one side, 'out of the line of fire'?.
Am I being over-critical? After all, this man is a professional, I am a lowly beginner ???

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nP4q3j0sqFY

Offline seventhdevil

• platinum
Re: Safety?
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2018, 11:31:21 PM »
undoubtedly the million and one different answers will now be given to these questions which will only confuse you more.

in my opinion there are many things in that video that people will find unsafe but also there will be people who thing that it's too safe.

his techniques will differ too and i personally think he has a bit of an odd way (underhand grip and not using the tool rest as a guide for his cut as i do) to round the blank but that's just me. he also turns too slowly for me but that's a whole other debate as it depends on the weight of the lathe.

ultimately it will just come down to what you find comfortable doing yourself as to whether you deem it safe or not. use common sense and your experience at the lathe to make these judgements. it can be good to be critical as a newbie as you will learn by questioning others what is right for you but as you say he is a professional and still seems in one piece so he must be doing something right.

Offline Sandy

• bronze