Author Topic: Colouring wood  (Read 6091 times)

Offline Frankenwood

• iron
Colouring wood
« on: July 30, 2018, 04:17:40 PM »
Hello all,

This would be my second post so I'll review me first ;D

I am a relative beginner to turning but find that I love it! I started with a drill driven lathe and wood chisels and had great fun. Now I have graduated to a Record CL1, three speed and have a few secondhand gouges. I have joined a club and the next task (some of you may recognise this) is to present a coloured piece.

So I have set to and made a couple of spirit based colours, and they have worked well giving a nice transparent sheen to the work - this first piece is oak - however it has highlighted ALL the mistakes, and there are a few. Mainly it seems to be toolmarks which aren't visible on the unstained piece. I will say that this is the first piece and a 'try out' so it's not the final design. I've attempted to attach a pic, please forgive me if it doesn't work.

Has anybody been here before, can anyone offer solutions or advice? All comments greatly appreciated.
It's Alive, Alivvveee...........

Offline Les Symonds

• platinum
    • Pren
Re: Colouring wood
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2018, 10:03:51 AM »
Any surface finish which has any degree of transparency, will show a stronger colour where there is a thicker coating. If you get the slightest piece of torn grain, a snag or catch from the tool, a slight crack in the timber, or just a sanding mark the finish (especially things like spirit stains) will seep into it and form a thicker coating than it has elsewhere, and consequently, a stronger colour.

With  any stained or coloured finish, there are no short-cuts. Sharp tools, good tool control and proper abrasive-technique will all  work together to give the surface finish needed for the colour to be applied.

Les